Division of Vascular Surgery

vascular surgery

Since its inception, the Division of Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy of the Department of Surgery at Emory has had an international role in advancing the treatment of arterial and venous disease. In the early 1990s, vascular surgery in general and our division in particular began shifting focus from traditional, open procedures to minimally-invasive and endovascular therapy techniques. This transition was validated by a wide range of clinical trials undertaken by our board-certified faculty physicians, who became recognized as national leaders in training, research, and the performance of endovascular procedures.

Yazan Duwayri, MD is the interim chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery. Dr. Duwayri has been at Emory since 2011 and currently serves as the medical director of the Heart and Vascular Service Line at Emory University Hospital, as well as co-director of the Emory Aortic Center and chief quality officer of the Division of Vascular Surgery. Dr. Duwayri also serves the vascular surgery community at a national level through several leadership positions in national and regional vascular societies.

The division's clinical research program provides patients with the opportunity to benefit from progressive technology through numerous clinical trials. Projects in the basic science research laboratory primarily investigate the regenerative potential of ischemic tissue and test novel regenerative therapeutic approaches to tissue engineering as it relates to limb salvage and cardiovascular health.

Emory Vascular Surgery sponsors two training programs: a two year, ACGME-approved vascular surgery fellowship, and an integrated vascular surgery residency. Both programs give vascular surgery trainees access to the entire breadth of vascular surgery practice, the opportunity to be taught and mentored by faculty that are innovators in their specialties, and stimulating rotations through a diverse array of clinical settings, including university, VA, private, pediatric, and trauma hospitals.