2020 Emory Surgery Newsletter

Emory Surgery-December 2020

Emory Surgery Newsletter December 2020

Bradley Leshnower, Milad Sharifpour, and Kim Baio praised for progress of COVID-19 therapeutics trial | 2020 Faculty Recognitions Week | ACS Fellows Inductees, Class of 2020 | Robotic imaging system helps support heart and vascular surgical care at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Olamide Alabi receives NHLBI and HSRC pilot grants | Kenneth Cardona named the Patricia R. Reynolds Professor in Sarcoma | Welcome our new faculty: Octav Cristea, Allison Linden, Maggie Diller | Kanika Kalra wins CVSA Resident Prize | Shayna Brathwaite receives GVS Robert B. Smith Award | Emma Crichton places 2nd in GA COT Resident Paper Competition


Emory Surgery-October 2020

Emory Surgery Newsletter October 2020

Emory-produced COVID-19 Community & Healthcare Facility Checklists now available | Randi Smith and colleagues receive Synergy Award | Kenneth Cardona and Rachel Lee featured at international conference | Steven Roser and Gary Bouloux's OMFS transitions | 2020 Researcher Appreciation Day highlights outstanding Emory investigators, Rachel Patzer and Chrystal Paulos included | Abe Matar receives AASLD Emerging Liver Scholar Award | Welcome our new faculty: Elizabeth Benjamin, J. Middleton Chang, Woodrow Farrington, II, Paul Ghareeb, Stuart Hurst, M. Ashraf A. Khan, Deepika Koganti, Takki Momin, Lauren Postlewait, Joshua Rosenblum


Emory Surgery-July 2020

Emory Surgery Newsletter July 2020

Remembering Doug Murray, MD | Randi Smith invited to join ACS COT Working Group on the Social Determinants of Health | Maria Russell appointed to Georgia's ACS CoC Chair | Juan Sarmiento performs 1000th Whipple procedure | SVS honors Robert Smith with 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award | Shishir Maithel asked to join ECC Initiative of the Oncology Center of Excellence | Thirty-one Emory Surgery Faculty Named to Atlanta Magazine's 2020 Top Doctors | Timothy Buchman and Rachel Patzer involved in COVID-19 research | Michael Lowe and Michael Turgeon accepted into ACCR/ASCO Clinical Trials Workshop | Peter Thompson's QI project reduces post-op breast implant infection rates | Richard Ricketts honored with AAP Arnold Salzberg Mentorship Award | Kirsten Baecher, Michael Turgeon, and Jessica Keilson named Elkin Fellows | Elissa Falconer wins 1st Place in NEJM QI Resident 360 Challenge | Octav Cristea's research recognized with AST KPCOP Travel Grant


Emory Surgery-May 2020

Emory Surgery Newsletter May 2020

Emory's surgery adjudicators must make complex decisions during COVID-19 | Craig Coopersmith named director of the Emory Critical Care Center | Randi Smith, Jason Sciarretta, and Amy Zeidan op-ed asserts violent trauma will rise during coronavirus disruption | Emory Surgery faculty honored as top educators | Welcome our new faculty: Samiksha B. Bansal, Rona L. Norelius, Sorin V. Pusca, Alexis D. Smith | 2020 Graduating Chiefs: New Affiliations | Katherine Fay receives Outstanding MIS Resident Award | Aileen Johnson earns ASTS-Natera Jon Fryer Resident Scientist Scholarship | Steven Kim receives ASTS Fellowship Grant | GO TRAVEL Award to support Constance Shreckengost's sabbatical in Bolivia


Emory Surgery-March 2020

Emory Surgery Newsletter March 2020

Message from DOS Chair John Sweeney: Keep doing what you're doing | Rachel Patzer's familial isolation tweet receives national attention | Emory helps build free online tool to assess COVID-19 risk | Emory Surgery places 6th in 2019 NIH funding rankings | Sheryl Gabram-Mendola transitions from Emory Surgery and Grady, Keith Delman to serve as interim surgeon-in-chief | Matthew Clifton appointed new chief of Division of Pediatric Surgery | Patient Jalen Richardson and the Burn Unit's Walter Ingram and Juvonda Hodge featured in riveting immersive story | Craig Coopersmith named Master of Critical Care Medicine | Jahnavi Srinivasan wins Philip Wolfson Outstanding Teacher Award | Tim Buchman-led federal study finds surge in sepsis is straining providers | Mandy Ford senior author of study that describes immune control via Fc receptors | New Faculty: Thomas S. Granchi, MD, MBA, and Chrystal M. Paulos, PhD | Rachel Lee wins Best Visual Abstract at 2020 SESC | Parth Patel receives TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award | Abe Matar and Brendan Lovasik recognized with ATC Young Investigator Awards | Molly Elson and Elorm Agra selected for STS Scholarships | Ben Hazen awarded GSACS Fellowship


Emory Surgery-February 2020

Emory Surgery Newsletter February 2020

Joe Sharma appointed new Vice Chair of Quality, Patient Safety and Care Innovation | Grants support Global Perioperative Working Group's surgical outreach efforts | William Jordan reports successful four year EndoAnchor System treatment of AAA | EUH achieves meritorious outcomes for surgical patient care | Craig Coopersmith is a co-author of one of JAMA's Top Articles of the Decade | Emory Cardiac Surgery at three hospitals achieves elite distinction | Atlanta VA Medical Center receives grants to develop treatment therapies for PAD patients | Douglas Murphy, Ankit Patel, and Vivian Wang featured in U.S. News & World Report | AHPBA Travel Grant will aid Lori Little's proposal to develop APP training site | Brett Tracy on a roll: Reuters, AMA Award, EAST Scholarship | Kanika Kalra wins Best Resident Abstract Award at STS Meeting | Residents receive 2020 ASCO Merit Awards | Duly Noted