Faculty Spotlights

Seth D. Force, MD

Seth Force, MDDr. Force has a national reputation as an outstanding thoracic surgeon whose research focuses on outcomes in lung transplantation and thoracic diseases.

When he joined the Emory Department of Surgery in 2003, Dr. Force improved the adult lung transplant service's transplant survival rates by revamping its protocols and procedures, and gradually tripled the program's lung transplant volume. He also specializes in minimally invasive thoracic surgery, reflux surgery, and microinvasive hyperhydrosis.

Dr. Force's Faculty Profile >>

Olamide Alabi, MD

Olamide Alabi, MDDr. Alabi's vascular surgery specialties include endovascular and open management of complex aortic aneurysm, dissection and vascular reconstructions for oncologic resections, and treatment of lower extremity/peripheral arterial disease.

Dr. Alabi received her MD at the University of Nebraska College of Medicine, completed her general surgery residency at Loma Linda University Medical Center, and did her vascular surgery fellowship at Oregon Health and Science University.

Dr. Alabi's Faculty Profile >>

Top Surgery News

Sheryl Gabram-Mendola Receives Inaugural Appointment to Academic Chair

Ada Lee Correll and Sheryl Gabram-MendolaNationally recognized expert in the surgical treatment of breast cancer and management of patients at high risk for breast cancer, Sheryl Gabram-Mendola, MD, MBA, has been named the Ada Lee Correll Chair in Surgery. This academic chair is the most recent installment in Ada Lee Correll's extensive history as a fundraiser and donor to various Atlanta-based and national entities. Mrs. Correll and Dr. Gabram-Mendola are pictured above.

Continue Reading >>

Also in the News:

Joe Sharma Appointed to McGarity Chair

Thirty Emory Surgery Faculty Named to Atlanta Magazine's 2019 Top Doctors

Georgia Health News Feature on Carla Haack's Relief Trips to Puerto Rico, Including a 2019 Trip with Emory Haiti Alliance Members

Theresa Gillespie Named a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing

Raymond Lynch Takes First Steps Towards Building National Liver Disease Patient Registry with CTSA Grant

More News >>

Trainee Spotlights

banner graphic for the Surgical Focus blogThe Surgical Focus Evidence Blog provides auxiliary sources for the top topics of discussion and debate at Emory Surgery's weekly surgical morbidity and mortality conferences.

Go to the Blog >>

Dr. Gamboa teaching a high school student how to apply a tourniquet,General surgery residents Adriana Gamboa, MD (in photo coaching a student in how to apply a tourniquet), Brendan Lovasik, MD, and David Faber, MD, are leading "Stop the Bleed" sessions for high school students enrolled in Emory's National Health Careers Opportunity Program.

Continue Reading >>

Xiaoying Lou, MD,Emory integrated cardiothoracic surgery resident Xiaoying Lou, MD, has been elected president of the Thoracic Surgery Resident Association (TSRA) for 2019-2020. She will continue to serve as the TSRA representative to the American Association for Thoracic Surgery Education Committee.

Continue Reading >>