2019 Emory Surgery Newsletter

Emory Surgery-November 2019

Emory Surgery Newsletter November 2019

Carla Haack honored as SOM Hidden Gem | ACGME selects Keith Delman for Courage to Teach Award | Important updates involving Emory IRB submissions and federal grant applications | Transplant referral disparities study & grant to examine pre-waitlisting variation | Restrictive medical marijuana laws affect patient access | Johanna Hinman appointed Director of Education and Global Surgery | 2019 Researcher Appreciation Day highlights outstanding Emory investigators | Welcome our new faculty: Stephanie Busby, A. Alfred Chahine, Anuj Mahajan, Rohit Mittal, Gustavo Parrilla, Jennifer Williams | Emory Surgery residents win Surgical Jeopardy at ACS Clinical Congress 2019 | Emma Rooney wins Robert Smith Resident Award | Stuart Hurst is Co-Investigator of GTF Award to improve civilian tourniquet use | Martha-Conley Ingram receives NCATS funding for research and mentorship | Brendan Lovasik and Andrew Adams study selected as Highlight of IXA 2019 | Duly Noted


Emory Surgery-August 2019

Emory Surgery Newsletter August 2019

Sheryl Gabram-Mendola receives inaugural appointment to academic chair | Joe Sharma appointed to McGarity Chair | Seth Force named Mansour Professor | Kendra Grubb and her Structural Heart Center associates perform live cases for TVT 2019 | Muralidhar Padala selected for 2019 Innovation for Impact Award | HIP/Georgia CTSA Seed Grant will fund proposal to improve the match of organ-donor pairs | Carla Haack involves Emory Haiti Alliance in relief trip to Puerto Rico | Theresa Gillespie named a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing | Satyen Tipathi's work recognized at AMI Annual Meeting | Thirty Emory Surgery Faculty named to Atlanta Magazine's 2019 Top Doctors | New Faculty: Tiffany Liang, Gaetano Paone, Jason Sciarretta | 2019 Graduating Chiefs: New Affiliations | Asa Yancey Scholarship introduces minority medical students to surgical residency training | Xiaoying Lou elected President of the TSRA | Residents lead Emory's "Stop the Bleed" training | Rachel Medbery, first female thoracic surgeon in Central Texas


Emory Surgery-June 6, 2019

Emory Surgery Newsletter June 2019

Raymond Lynch takes first steps towards building national liver disease patient registry with CTSA grant | Steven Roser receives Distinguished Service Award from IAOMS | Emory Clinic Vascular Surgery wins 3 Star SVS-VQI Award | Robert Guyton and Omar Lattouf recognized with SOM Alumni Awards | Rachel Patzer is Co-PI of Synergy II/Nexus Award to expand Emory's Implementation Science | Steven Roser receives SOM Nexus Award for Global Health Working Group | Emory Surgery's top providers in Q2 of 2019 | New Faculty: Paul J. Chai, MD, and Mani A. Daneshmand, MD | Spotlighted Educators: Dina Amin and Joshua Winer | Raj Thaker promoted to Manager of Financial Planning and Analysis | Shelley Browning appointed new Data Analyst III | Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 Annual William C. Wood Research Symposium | NIH TL1 Award will fund Michael Turgeon's thesis project | Rachel Lee presents revised view of recurrence testing in the elderly | Taylor Melanson to use CTSA Grant to define delay patterns in early steps to transplant | General surgery residents elected to Alpha Omega Alpha | Duly Noted


Emory Surgery-March 28, 2019

Emory Surgery Newsletter March 2019

Emory Surgery places 7th in 2018 NIH funding rankings | Andrew Adams and Gabe Kwong work to develop novel method for detecting transplant rejection | Lily Yang, Jack Arbiser, and colleagues test new nanoparticle as therapy for advanced melanoma | Mandy Ford Honored with 2019 AST Basic Science Investigator Award | ETC investigators work towards broader application of costimulation blockade-based immunosuppression | Emory surgical oncologists and surgery residents participate in study confirming the ability of virus to combat melanoma | Cathy Graham participates in study of minimally invasive approach to diagnosis and management of certain breast conditions | S. Scott Davis is co-editor of new SAGES Manual of Hernia Surgery | Patrick Sullivan and Theresa Wu co-host Facebook Live | Emory Surgery faculty and trainees seen AND heard at SESC 2019 | Welcome our new Vascular Surgery Faculty: Jay Miller, Victor Njoku, George Skardasis | Surgical Focus blog augments resident learning | Mohammad Zaidi wins AHPBA Young Investigator Award | Erica Ludi to serve as RAS Liaison to the ACS Operation Giving Back Global Education Workgroup | Gazi Rashid presents popular workshop on making cheap, effective simulation models at IMSH | Duly Noted


Emory Surgery-January 30, 2019

Emory Surgery Newsletter November 7, 2018

Emory Structural Heart & Valve Center joins new NIH Network, announces new leadership | Emory Surgery NSQIP Celebration: 10,000 Lives Strong! | EUH achieves meritorious outcomes for surgical patient care | William Jordan presents three-year EndoAnchor Registry study data | Felix Fernandez named Chair of STS Workforce on National Databases | Emory physicians collaborate on clinical trial testing vitamin and steroid combination in sepsis patients | Edward Chen receives TSRA Socrates Teaching Award | Reminder: 2019 Emory Surgery faculty retreat | New Faculty: Fawwaz R. Shaw, MD | New Staff: Mary Ann Garcia, MBA | Brendan Lovasik and Doan Nguyen win poster awards at Great Lakes Immunology Forum | Adriana Gamboa earns 2019 ASCO Merit Award | Xiaoying Lou receives presentation award at ECTSS Annual Meeting | Duly Noted