Faculty Appointments & Promotions

Emory University and the School of Medicine have an efficient, reliable process in place for considering candidates for faculty appointment and subsequent promotion.

For the most accurate and up-to-date information in this regard, please refer to the faculty affairs section of the School of Medicine website, where one will find details on process, sample materials, and track definitions.

The Department of Surgery views appointments and promotions as an academic priority, and has dedicated faculty and staff available to assist faculty in maneuvering through this process.

An essential step in the promotions process is for faculty to partner with their division chief at the outset, after which they should contact members of the Appointments and Promotions Committee to discuss those areas of focus that that will require specific attention as they navigate through the steps that lead to successful promotion.

Department of Surgery Appointments & Promotions Support Staff:

Millicent Scott, MSHRM, CAC
Business Manager
Millicent.Scott@emory.edu
404.712.9511

Department of Surgery Appointments & Promotions Committee:

COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN:

Kenneth Newell, MD, PhD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Transplantation
kanewel@emory.edu
404.727.2489

MEMBERS:

Craig Coopersmith, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of General Surgery, Critical Care Specialty
cmcoop3@emory.edu
404.727.4273

Lisa Fisher, MHA
DOS Clinical Administrator
lfishe4@emory.edu
404.712.0076

Sheryl Gabram-Mendola, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology
Surgeon-in-Chief (Emory), Grady Memorial Hospital
sgabram@emory.edu
404.778.1230

David Kooby, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology
dkooby@emory.edu
404.778.3805

Steven Roser, DMD, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
sroser@emory.edu
404.778.5883

John Sweeney, MD
Professor of Surgery
Chair, Department of Surgery, Emory SOM
jfsween@emory.edu
404.727.1540

David Vega, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
david.vega@emory.edu
404.778.5289

Mark Wulkan, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Pediatric Surgery
mwulkan@emory.edu
404.785.0781

««return to top