Top Surgery News

Dr. Christopher Ramos Represents Emory Surgery at Latino Surgical Society Symposium

Christopher Ramos and trainees at LSS 2024

Christopher Ramos, MD, and three medical students and trainees participated in the Surgical Symposium on Latino Health held in Seattle, Washington from May 17-19. This was the first symposium by the Latino Surgical Society (LSS) since the COVID-19 pandemic, drawing over 100 participants, including medical students, trainees, faculty, and professionals.


Also in the News:

Dr. Randi Smith Invited to White House National Gun Violence Awareness Day

2024 William Wood Symposium: Final Report

Dr. Bradley Leshnower Leads in High-Risk Aneurysm Treatment

Dr. Craig Coopersmith Honored with 2024 Dean's Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Award

Dr. Ravi Rajani Chosen as President-Elect of Vascular and Endovascular Surgical Society (VESS)

Dr. Randi Smith Wins $2 Million Grant to Support Violence Intervention Efforts at Grady

Colquitt Regional partners with Emory University for surgical residencies in South GA

Emory selected as Recipient of Federal Funding to support Innovative Health Research

More News >>

Faculty Spotlights

Ravi Rajani, MD 


Ravi Rajani, MD, has accepted the role of executive associate dean (EAD) for Emory at Grady, effective June 1, 2024. Dr. Rajani currently serves as the assistant dean for medical education for Emory at Grady and has been the interim EAD for Emory at Grady since March 2023. He has previously served as the chief of vascular and endovascular surgery at Grady and co-director of The Grady Heart and Vascular Center.

Dr. Rajani joined Emory in 2011 as the inaugural chief of vascular and endovascular surgery at Grady. He has led numerous clinical trials at Grady, primarily focused on endovascular control of vascular trauma, management of peripheral arterial disease, and novel methods of dialysis access creation. Dr. Rajani also currently serves on the editorial leadership committee of both the "Journal of Vascular Surgery" and "Annals of Vascular Surgery."

Dr. Rajani's faculty profile >>

David Kooby, MD

Dr. Kooby

David Kooby, MD, was awarded the 2024 E. Napier Burson, Jr., MD, Physician Award of Distinction along Dr. Dheval Desai on May 1, 2024. It has been four years since the Burson Award nominating committee has named a recipient.

Dr. Kooby met and exceeded the Burson Award criteria of: 

1. Adherence to the emergency philosophy and contribution to Mercy Mission in Atlanta.

2. Contribution to the quality of medicine practice at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital.

3. Ability to contribute in a leadership role.

Dr. Kooby is a professor of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology and Chief of Emory Surgery in the Northern Arc.

Dr. Kooby's faculty profile >>



Trainee Spotlights

Dr. Eli Mlaver Wins Surgical Infection Society New Member Award

Eli Mlaver

Eli Mlaver, MD, won the Surgical Infection Society's (SIS) New Member Award in June, 2024. Dr. Mlaver submitted the abstract titled "A Self-Sustaining Antibiotic Prophylaxis Program to Reduce Surgical Site Infections" which he co-authored with Drs. Jesse Codner, Elissa Falconer, and Joe Sharma. The manuscript was published in the peer-reviewed medical journal, "Surgical Infections."

The New Member Award is presented to an SIS new member author of one of the top three to five abstracts. Manuscripts and meeting presentations are reviewed and scored by members of the Awards Committee. 

Dr. Anthony Meena Wins House Staff Organization Professionalism Excellence (HOPE) Award

R. Anthony Meena

Anthony Meena, MD, was named a 2023-2024 HOPE Award winner for Surgery on Thursday, June 20, 2024. This marks Dr. Meena's second time winning the award, with his first win occurring in the 2020-2021 year.

The award was determined by a vote of colleagues in demonstrating exceptional professionalism while collaborating with peers across various departments. Winners will be recognized at the GME Orientation and will receive a certificate.