Endocrine Surgery Fellowship

Surgical team in the operating room.


Accredited by the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons (AAES), the one-year Emory Endocrine Surgery Fellowship is designed to expose advanced trainees to the treatment nuances and specialized operations that will allow them to start their career with a focus in endocrine surgery.

During the fellowship, surgeons who have completed their general surgery residencies will attain specialty status in the diagnosis and surgical treatment of endocrine diseases of the thyroid, parathyroid, and adrenal glands and the pancreas.

The program director is Dr. Neil Saunders. Additional Emory thyroid and endocrine surgeons are actively involved in the fellowship.

Program Length/Structure

  • One year

  • The fellowship begins on August 1st of each year.

  • Rotating apprenticeship with core faculty

Training Facilities

Fellows receive a wide breadth of training experiences at two primary sites:

  • Emory University Hospital (EUH) is a tertiary academic center that has one of the highest case-mix indexes of any hospital in the country. For the ninth year in a row, U.S. News & World Report ranked EUH the No. 1 hospital in Georgia and metro Atlanta in its 2020-2021 Best Hospitals Guide.

  • Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital (ESJH) is an acute care facility in the north metro area of Atlanta. ESJH was also ranked by U.S. News & World Report's 2020-2021 Best Hospitals Guide, achieving the level of the No. 2 hospital in Georgia and metro Atlanta.

Qualifications for Applicants

  • Applicants must be senior residents at an ACGME-accredited general surgery program or board certified/board eligible general surgeons.

  • At the outset of the fellowship, trainees must be board eligible and have completed accredited general surgery training.

  • Eligible applicants should apply through the AAES match program.

  • Program interviews are held in the spring.

Contact Information

Neil Saunders, MD, FACS, FSSO
Program Director

Antoinette Rogers
Program Coordinator

Core Faculty

Jyotirmay Sharma, MD, FACS, FACE
Assistant Program Director

Snehal Patel, MD, FACS

Collin Weber, MD, FACS
Professor Emeritus

Additional Faculty

Amy Chen, MD, FACS, FACE

Julie McGill, MD, FACS