General Surgery Residency

While our general surgery residency honors the fundamentals of the classic curriculum, we also encourage our residents to pursue a specialized focus by enrolling in "selectives" that will tailor their education to specific interests and career goals.

Unlike most large academic programs, Emory residents may complete five straight years of general surgery or do a research sabbatical in one of our high-profile research labs. Additionally, we support the pursuit of MBAs, MPHs, Masters of Science in Clinical Investigation, or PhDs, as these degrees can provide residents with the resources to pursue leadership roles in such fields as health administration, policy initiatives, and international health.

The Department's emphasis on translating scientific breakthroughs into clinical application and care delivery allows our residents to become comfortable and skilled with the most up to date, innovative procedures. Unlike other major cities which typically have two or more institutions competing for patients, Emory is the only tertiary care, research-oriented medical center in Atlanta, a metropolitan area of over five million people. Our six impressive and distinct training facilities insure our access to this vast patient population.

The location of Emory Surgery in a vibrant, multi-faceted, and ultimately inspirational campus community grounds our residency program in a culture of interaction and cross-collaboration. We are part of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center, one of eight national primate research centers funded by the NIH; the Emory Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University, Georgia's first NCI-designated Cancer Center; and Emory Healthcare, the largest and most comprehensive health system in the state.

The Emory medical community also has close ties with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the American Cancer Society, the Georgia Institute of Technology, and other research institutions throughout the state and nation.