William C. Wood Research Symposium

Resident Research Day poster session

The Annual William C. Wood Research Symposium showcases the basic and clinical science research of the Emory Department of Surgery's students, residents, and fellows, and features a keynote speaker of national prominence.

The symposium's initial abstract call in both basic and clinical science categories is issued several months before the event date. Trainees in dedicated laboratory rotations are expected to submit their research, though the call is open to all trainees. Submissions are reviewed by a panel of the Department of Surgery Research Advisory Committee (SRAC), and considered for both oral and poster presentation. At the conclusion of the symposium, first and second place cash awards are given for best oral presentations and posters in both clinical science and basic science categories.

The 17th installment of the symposium was held on April 26, 2018, in the Emory University Hospital Auditorium. Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD, the Rob and Karen Hale Distinguished Chair in Surgical Oncology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, and a faculty member at Harvard Medical School, delivered the keynote address. Oral and poster presentations followed from 8:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m.

The date for the 2019 symposium will be announced upon confirmation.

William Wood: Renaissance Surgeon

Dr. William C. Wood

William C. Wood

The symposium is named in honor of William Wood, MD, former chair of the Emory Department of Surgery from 1991-2009. Dr. Wood guided the department to becoming one of the nation's leading institutions for surgical research and innovation.

When Dr. Wood came to Emory from Massachusetts General Hospital, where he served as both medical director of the cancer center and chief of surgical oncology, the department had no NIH grants. By the time he stepped down from the chair's office, however, Emory Surgery had begun regularly placing in the upper ranks of academic departments of surgery receiving NIH funding.

Dr. Wood is also known for his outstanding contributions to cancer therapy—most specifically breast cancer treatment—and the design and meta-analysis of conceptually driven clinical trials.