2021 Emory Surgery Newsletter

Emory Surgery-November 2021

Emory Surgery November 2021 newsletter

Christian Larsen receives AMA's Scientific Achievement Award | Brad Leshnower will apply NIH/NHLBI grant to developing predictive model for UTABD treatment | Uncovering why many veterans with PAD in the South experience amputations | Ravi Rajani named Assistant Dean for Education, Emory at Grady | Chrystal Paulos: Top researcher honor affirmed by V Foundation grant | ETC's aim of improving immunosuppression for kidney transplant moves forward with multiple clinical trials | Onkhar Khullar and Manu Sancheti perform Georgia’s first robotic-assisted tracheobronchoplasty | Sharon Muret-Wagstaff named to Academy of Master Surgeon Educators | Deepika Koganti appointed associate program director of the Acute Care Surgery Fellowship | Faculty Recognitions Week | 2021 Annual Emory Surgery Staff Awards | Keneeshia Williams' drive to educate: TEDx presenter, ACS CASEL program | Marty Sellers named medical advisor-elect to the AOPO | Welcome our new faculty: Barath R. Badrinathan, Jazmin Cole, Heather Faulkner, Katherine Hekman, John Lyons, Felipe Maegawa, Meredith Mason, Ahmed Nassar, Omobolanle (Mobola) Oyefule | Kirsten Baecher selected for the SESC Gold Medal Resident Paper Award | R. Anthony Meena receives 2nd GVS Robert B. Smith, III, MD, Resident Award | James Jeong recognized with AAOMS Scientific Presentation Award for 1st-time study


Emory Surgery-July 2021

Emory Surgery July 2021 newsletter

Maggie Diller receives first Department of Surgery Pilot Research Award | Craig Coopersmith named a 2021 Health Care Heroes finalist | Katie Ross-Driscoll and Megan Urbanski receive Georgia CTSA grants | Nader Massarweh named new Chief of Surgery at the Atlanta VA | Allan Pickens and other Emory doctors answer COVID-19 vaccine questions | Bariatric Midtown team’s study featured on GHA's Power Hour Series | Robotic surgery debuts at the Atlanta VA Healthcare System | Emory Surgery faculty honored as top educators | Theresa Gillespie named to new Winship position | 1,000th heart transplant performed at Emory University Hospital | Randi Smith earns EM teaching award | Michael Lowe throws perfect pitch for skin cancer awareness | Welcome new faculty: Amalia A. Jonsson, MD, and Alison F. Ward, MD | Caroline Medin and Jessica Keilson receive prestigious support for their research sabbaticals | ASTS Foundation awards Wairimu Magua her first grant | Aileen Johnson wins Grady Research Day Poster Competition


Emory Surgery-April 2021

Emory Surgery April 2021 newsletter

Remembering Charles Hatcher | Two Emory surgical centers named in Newsweek's list of America's Best Ambulatory Surgery Centers | Welcome new faculty member M. Drew Davis | New robots at Emory Saint Joseph's & Emory Johns Creek hospitals | Randi Smith and Deepika Koganti partner on trauma-related grants | HSRC Pilot Grant available | Emory Surgery physicians honored on Doctors' Day | Shelly Abramowicz elected to JOMS editorial board | Michael Turgeon presents multi-institutional study at ASA Annual Meeting | Charles Frank joins BARDA to support sepsis research | Abe Matar and David Faber's abstracts selected for ATC 2021 | Constance Shreckengost awarded VECD Fellowship


Emory Surgery-February 2021

Emory Surgery February 2021 newsletter

Remembering George Skardasis | Toncred Styblo named an Unsung Heroine | Chris Dente earns Emory at Grady Innovation Award | Gary Bouloux to lead multi-center study of metal hypersensitivity following TMJR | Lily Yang receives R01 to develop nanoparticle-driven immunotherapy | SORG Grant funds Dina Amin's work on orbital trauma and reconstruction | Bariatric Midtown team wins GA Hospital Association 2021 Patient Safety & Quality Award | RaDIANT: Working to improve access to kidney transplants | Allan Pickens' story highlighted during Black History Month | Cathy Graham co-author of poster presented at 2020 SABCS | ESJH receives notable recognition from AHA and The Mitral Foundation | Upcoming: Interprofessional Collaboration in Global Surgery Symposium | Welcome new faculty and staff: Katherine Ross-Driscoll, Pranavi Ravichandran, Cathy Anderson | Black History Month Medical Honoree: Dr. LaSalle D. Leffall | WISER Podcast garners Women of Excellence Award | 9th Annual Diversity Celebration sustains the legacy of welcoming all