2017 Emory Surgery Newsletter

Emory Surgery-November 7, 2017


David Kooby Provides Option of Robotic Surgery for Pancreatic Cancer Patients at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital
Omar Lattouf Named Medical Director of New Surgical Partnership
Chris Larsen and Ravi Rajani Receive Synergy Awards
CSAT Physician-Patient Lung Cancer App Receives Design Award
New Faculty: Stephanie Drew, DMD
Sharon Muret-Wagstaff Named an SSH Academy Fellow
Carla Haack Provides Medical Care on Volunteer Trip to Puerto Rico
Faculty Recognitions Week
Distinguished Organizational Appointments for Shishir Maithel
Kenneth Cardona Appointed Chair of the NLMSF Medical Advisory Council

Emory Surgery-September 7, 2017


Michael E. Halkos Appointed New Chief of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Emory & Georgia Tech Team's Transplant Imaging Research Supported by NIAID
Muralidhar Padala Receives Two R01s to Develop Novel Techniques for Repairing Diseased Heart Valves
I. Raul Badell Will Use NIH K08 to Study Mechanisms of DSA Formation Following Kidney Transplantation
Seeking to Understand Why Cancer Screenings are Uncommon for HIV Patients
2017 Researcher Appreciation Day Highlights Outstanding Emory Investigators
Two New R01-Funded Emory Collaborations Will Develop Methods of Alleviating Kidney Transplant Disparities
Team Led by Marty Sellers and Juan Sarmiento Wins 2017 EHC Quality Academy Poster Award
Shipra Arya Studying Veterans' Decision Making for Treatment of Abdominal Aortic Aneurysms
Mehul Raval Named Director of the Center for Clinical Outcomes Research & Public Health
Video: Early Detection in Esophageal Cancer
Video: What is HIPEC?
Caitlin Fitzgerald Wins Georgia ACS Day of Trauma Resident Paper Competition
Kanika Kalra Selected for ECTSS David Campbell Scholarship
New Faculty: Olamide Alabi, Robert Crawford, Terrah Paul Olson, Randi Smith, Peter Thompson, Keneeshia Williams
Duly Noted

Emory Surgery-June 29, 2017


NIH Awards Chris Larsen and Team $12.6M for Improved Post-Transplant Regimens
Link Described to More Deaths for Vulnerable Patients Under UNOS Proposals for Broader Liver Sharing
Changes to Waitlist Calculation Reduces Racial/Ethnic Disparities in Kidney Transplant Patients
Ravi Rajani Named National PI of Trial Evaluating Relay PRO Stent-Graft for Trauma to Descending Thoracic Aorta
CORE Simulation Program Meets Operating Room Infrastructure Training Need
Barbara Pettitt Wins Papageorge and Best Clerkship Director Awards
Cathy Graham Named New Director of Breast Surgery at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital
Douglas Murphy Receives Highest Physician Honor from Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital
All Our Best to the 2017 Graduating Chiefs of the General Surgery Residency
2017-2018 Residency/Fellowship Transitions
2017 Health Care Heroes Awards
2017 Educator Appreciation Day
William and Judy Wood Garner Christian Educator of the Year Award
Steven Roser Honored with the AAOMS Donald B. Osbon Award for an Outstanding Educator
New Faculty: David Elwood, Mark Shapiro, Chadwick Stouffer
Adekemi Egunsola's Research Recognized at SBAS Meeting
Craig McCready Places 2nd at Grady Research Day
Fellowship & MD/MSCR Enrollment Support Sujin Lee's Work in Shipra Arya's Lab
Resident Matthew Perez Named Physician of the Year at Florida Hospital
Duly Noted

Emory Surgery-April 17, 2017


V Foundation Grant Will Aid Preeti Subhedar's Effort to Increase Minority Enrollment in Breast Cancer Trials at Grady Hospital
Emory's Liver Transplant Program Ranks Second in U.S. and First in Georgia
Roland Matthews, PI, and Sheryl Gabram, Co-PI, of $2M Merck Foundation Award
Mehul Raval to Lead AHRQ-Funded Study of Value of Surgical Care at Children's and Non-Children's Hospitals
CMS Report Highlights Successes of Emory's eICU
Robert Guyton Honored with ACC Award
New Faculty: Guillermo Escobar
CSAT's Anatomy of the Male Pelvis App Now Available
Emory Surgery Residents Receive Awards at SESC Annual Meeting
Congratulations to the Winners of the 16th Annual WCW Symposium
Endosurgery Unit 25 Year Reunion
Stuart Hurst Elected New General Surgery Residency Administrative Chief
Juhee Joyce Kim Receives AST Travel Award

Emory Surgery–February 24, 2017


Emory Surgery Places 9th in NIH 2016 Funding Rankings
Structural Heart Research and Innovation Lab Researchers Receive AHA Awards
ASPEN Award Goes to the EUH Nutrition and Metabolic Support Service
Emory Transplant Center Performs its 1st HIV-Positive Kidney Transplant From HIV-Positive Deceased Donor
Young Investigator Award Will Send Brendan Lovasik to American Transplant Congress
E. Dean McKenzie New Chief of Pediatric Congenital Cardiac Surgery at CHOA
Dramatic TEVAR Procedure Featured on Fox News
Fox News Covers Minimally Invasive Lung Cancer Surgery Story
Joe Sharma Appointed Chief Quality Officer of Emory Surgery
New Faculty: Cathy Graham, MD, Vincent Zubowicz, MD
New Staff: DeShundra King, Rajesh Thaker
Duly Noted

««return to top