2016 Emory Surgery Newsletter

Emory Surgery–December 16, 2016


Novel Improvement Project: EHC Teams Monitor EHC Patients from Sydney, Australia
Douglas Murphy Performs 2000th Cardiac Robotic Procedure
Hakob Davtyan Initiates CT Surgery at St. Francis Hospital
Seth Rosen Chairs EHC's Robotic Institute Committee
Bryan Morse Urges Redefinition of the Cardiac Box
Sheryl Gabram Continues Working Toward Resolving Breast Cancer Disparities in Atlanta
Theresa Gillespie an Investigator on Synergy and NCI-CGH Awards Teams
Residents Receive 2017 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Merit Awards
Abstract Deadline Extended: 2017 WCW Research Symposium
Emory Vascular Surgery and Vein Center Opens at Johns Creek
Carla Haack Named Henry B. Tippie Clinician-Scholar
New Faculty: Dina Amin, Gabriele Miotto
Duly Noted

Emory Surgery–October 6, 2016


Joining Forces: The New Division of Colorectal Surgery
Coulter Foundation Funds MitraPlug
Mandy Ford Receives Renewal of R01
No Hitches: Emory's First Telemedicine Visit
FDA Approves SAPIEN 3 Valve for Patients at Intermediate-Risk
Lily Yang Co-PI on Grant to Develop New Breast Tumor Removal System
Tom Pearson Emory-Pi of Study of FDA-Approved Drug in HIV Positive Patients Receiving Kidney Transplants
Shipra Arya GEMSSTAR Grant and PDP Takes Closer Look at Frail Patients
Shelly Abramowicz and Justine Moe Receive 1st Place Poster Award at AAOMS Meeting
Robert Smith Named 1st Recipient of GVS Lifetime Achievement Award
Felix Fernandez Appointed to PCORI Advisory Panel
Emory Apps Now Available on Mobile App Catalog
New Faculty: Glen Balch, Jaime Bennarroch-Gampel, Jeffrey Javidfar, Onkar Khullar, William Kitchens, Denise Lo, Michael Lowe, and Snehal Patel

Emory Surgery–August 1, 2016


Legacy of an International Surgeon: Kamal Mansour, 1929-2016
Twenty-Two Emory Surgery Faculty Named to Atlanta's Top Doctors
Faculty Core Services Now Listed on Website
Faculty and Staff Make Notable Contributions to Successive Quality Conferences
New Center Will Give Non-Scientists Ability to Impact Health and Disparities in Their Communities
URC-ACTSI Award Planned as First in Series for Virginia Shaffer
2016-2017 Residency/Fellowship Transitions
Physicians Report Satisfaction with iChoose Kidney App Improving Transplant Decision Making
Yazan Duwayri Appointed Medical Director of SEVSG
Victoria Teodorescu Named to Review Boards of IPRO ESRD Network 6
Residents Cecilia Ethun and Clara Farley Receive Winship Research Awards
ASCRS Grant for Patrick Sullivan Mentee
Transplant Fellow Honored
Ken Cardona invited to Join ASO Editorial Board
Beth Begley Rejoins the Emory Transplant Center

Emory Surgery–May 26, 2016


Emory Endosurgery Fellow Takes MIS Training to Surgeons in Haiti
Commission on Cancer Accredits Emory Integrated Cancer Network
Emory Endosurgery Fellowship Reaccredited
Emory First in Georgia to Offer Less Invasive TCAR Procedure for Carotid Stenosis
Rachel Patzer Research Update: RaDIANT Study Expansion & Video Outreach
Michael Halkos Receives Funding as AATS Graham Surgical Investigator to Evaluate HCR
One-Year Results of Emory-Led TAVR Study Confirm Efficacy
Robert Guyton Honored with Distinguished Service Award
Shipra Arya Receives Leadership Training Grant
Database Linkage Finds Greater Survival Rates After Lung Cancer Surgery for Older Adults
SOM Class of 2016 Votes Barbara Pettitt Best Clerkship Director
Congratulations to the Winners of the 15th Annual WCW Symposium
New Faculty: Marty Sellers, MD, MPH
John Lyons Presents at Postdoctoral Fellow Research Symposium

Emory Surgery–March 31, 2016


Emory Surgery Places in Top 10 for 2015 NIH Funding
SC2i Cited as Model of PMI at White House
Redefinitions of Sepsis and Septic Shock Aim to Increase Early Detection
Foad Nahai Named Jurkiewicz Chair
New Leadership and SSO Reapproval of the Breast Oncology Fellowship
Emory Surgery Faculty Included in Featured Doctors on Doctors' Day
New Faculty: Victoria Teodorescu, MD
New Staff: Tabitha Brown, MBA
Residents Cecilia Ethun, Lauren Postlewait and Kim Ramonell Receive Travel Awards
Mehul Raval Mentees to Present at PAPS

Emory Surgery–January 28, 2016


William Jordan Begins Tenure as Vascular Surgery Chief
Lily Yang Nano-Research Group Receives R01 to Develop Precision Infiltration of Peritoneal Tumors
Study Examines Prevalence and Effects of Undiagnosed Diabetes in the ICU
Screening for Prostate Cancer in Kidney Transplant Candidates may be Detrimental
Stage Increase in Lung Cancer More Frequent After Open vs Closed Thoracic Surgery
Monica Rizzo and Others Offer One-Time Radiation During Breast Surgery at EUHM
John Lyons Awarded NIH F32 Fellowship
Make a Difference: Support our Trainees

««return to top