2020 News Reports


Robotic imaging system helps support heart and vascular surgical care at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital

Olamide Alabi receives NHLBI and HSRC pilot grants

Kanika Kalra wins CVSA Resident Prize


Bradley Leshnower, Milad Sharifpour, and Kim Baio recognized by NIH for progress of COVID-19 therapeutics trial

Emory Surgery Faculty among Emory School of Medicine honorees


OMFS: Steven Roser and Gary Bouloux transitions

Shayna Brathwaite receives GVS Robert B. Smith Award


Randi Smith and colleagues receive Synergy Award

Abe Matar receives AASLD Emerging Liver Scholar Award

Emory-produced COVID-19 Community & Healthcare Facility Checklists for low resource settings now available


Juan Sarmiento performs 1000th Whipple procedure

Remembering Doug Murray, MD

SVS honors Robert Smith with 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

Shishir Maithel asked to join Eligibility Criteria Consistency Initiative of the Oncology Center of Excellence

Thirty-one Emory Surgery Faculty Named to Atlanta Magazine's 2020 Top Doctors

Kirsten Baecher, Michael Turgeon, and Jessica Keilson named Elkin Fellows


Michael Lowe and Michael Turgeon accepted into ACCR/ASCO Clinical Trials Workshop

Timothy Buchman and Rachel Patzer involved in COVID-19 research

Randi Smith invited to join ACS COT Working Group on the Social Determinants of Health

Jessica Keilson accepted into Georgia CTSA training program

Maria Russell appointed to Georgia's ACS CoC Chair

Elissa Falconer wins First Place in the NEJM QI Resident 360 Challenge

Octav Cristea's research recognized with AST KPCOP Travel Grant


Emory's surgery adjudicators must make complicated decisions during COVID-19

Richard Ricketts honored with AAP Arnold Salzberg Mentorship Award

Peter Thompson's QI project reduces post-op breast implant infection rates

Katherine Fay receives Outstanding MIS Resident Award

Craig Coopersmith named director of the Emory Critical Care Center


Emory expands critical care services for COVID patients

Craig Coopersmith one of three Emory faculty involved in shaping federal COVID-19 treatment guidelines

GO TRAVEL Award to support Constance Shreckengost's sabbatical in Bolivia

Steven Kim receives ASTS Fellowship Grant

Aileen Johnson earns 2020 ASTS-Natera Jon Fryer Resident Scientist Scholarship

Emory PPE shortage resource


Message from Emory Surgery Chair John Sweeney: Keep doing what you're doing

Rachel Patzer tweet about personal experience with social distancing goes viral, inspires recognition from former President Obama (USA Today story)

Matthew Clifton appointed new chief of Division of Pediatric Surgery

Emory helps build free online tool to assess COVID-19 risk

Sheryl Gabram-Mendola transitions from Emory Surgery and Grady, Keith Delman to serve as interim surgeon-in-chief


Juvonda Hodge, Walt Ingram and the Grady Burn Center's role in patient Jalen Richardson's long, difficult, and ultimately inspiring recovery featured in immersive story

Abe Matar and Brendan Lovasik recognized with Young Investigator Awards at American Transplant Congress

Craig Coopersmith named a Master of Critical Care Medicine

Emory Surgery places 6th in 2019 NIH funding rankings

Timothy Buchman-led federal study finds surge in sepsis is placing strain on providers

Rachel Lee wins Best Visual Abstract at 2020 SESC

Jahnavi Srinivasan wins Philip Wolfson Outstanding Teacher Award

Parth Patel receives TSF Resident Research Fellowship Award


Mandy Ford is senior author of a study that describes immune control via Fc receptors on T cells

Kanika Kalra wins Best Resident Abstract Award at STS Meeting

Residents receive 2020 ASCO Merit Awards

Atlanta VA Medical Center receives grants to develop treatment therapies for PAD patients

AHPBA Travel Grant will aid Lori Little's proposal to develop APP training site