2019 News Reports


Douglas Murphy, Ankit Patel, and Vivian Wang Featured in U.S. News & World Report

Joe Sharma Appointed New Vice Chair of Quality, Patient Safety and Care Innovation for the Department of Surgery

Brett Tracy on a Roll: Reuters, AMA Award, EAST Scholarship


William Jordan Reports Successful Four Year Endoanchor System Treatment of AAA

Emory Cardiac Surgery Achieves Elite Distinction

Grants Support Global Perioperative Working Group's Surgical Outreach Efforts


Carla Haack Honored as SOM Hidden Gem

Brendan Lovasik and Andrew Adams Study Selected as Highlight of IXA 2019

ACGME Selects Keith Delman for Courage to Teach Award

Johanna Hinman Appointed Director of Education and Global Surgery

Martha-Conley Ingram Awarded NCATS Funding for Research and Mentorship

Stuart Hurst is Co-Investigator of GTF Award to Improve Civilian Tourniquet use


Rachel Patzer and Stephen Pastan Receive R01 to Improve Quality and Access to Early Steps in Kidney Transplantation

Attention Emory Surgery Researchers: Important Updates Involving Emory eIRB Submissions and Federal Grant Applications

Emma Rooney Wins Robert Smith Resident Award

Theresa Gillespie, Vinita Singh, and Colleagues Publish Study on Patients with Cancer Pain Facing Barriers to Medical Marijuana

Rachel Patzer is Senior Author of Study That Finds Kidney Dialysis Profit Status May Influence Timeline for Receiving Transplant


Kendra Grubb and Structural Heart Center Associates Perform Live Cases for TVT 2019

HIP/Georgia CTSA Seed Grant will Fund Proposal to Improve the Match of Organ-Donor Pairs

Asa Yancey Scholarship Introduces Minority Medical Students to Surgical Residency Training

Seth Force Named Mansour Professor

Muralidhar Padala Selected for 2019 Innovation for Impact Award

Joe Sharma Appointed to McGarity Chair


Sheryl Gabram-Mendola Receives Inaugural Appointment to Academic Chair

Satyen Tipathi's Work Recognized at AMI Annual Meeting

Thirty Emory Surgery Faculty Named to Atlanta Magazine's 2019 Top Doctors

Georgia Health News Feature on Carla Haack's Relief Trips to Puerto Rico, Including a 2019 Trip with Emory Haiti Alliance Members


Theresa Gillespie Named a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing

Residents Lead Emory's "Stop the Bleed" Training

Xiaoying Lou Elected President of the TSRA


Steven Roser Receives SOM Nexus Award for Global Health Working Group

Rachel Patzer is Co-PI of Synergy II/Nexus Award to Expand Emory's Implementation Science

NIH TL1 Award Will Fund Michael Turgeon's Thesis Project

Raymond Lynch Takes First Steps Towards Building National Liver Disease Patient Registry with CTSA Grant

Taylor Melanson to use CTSA Grant to Define Delay Patterns in Early Steps to Transplant

Rachel Lee Presents Revised View of Recurrence Testing in the Elderly at ASBrS Meeting


Steven Roser Receives Distinguished Service Award from IAOMS

WABE Story on Robotic Heart Surgery at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital Features Douglas Murphy

Emory Clinic Vascular Surgery Wins 3 Star SVS-VQI Award


Mandy Ford Honored With 2019 AST Basic Science Investigator Award

ETC Investigators Work Towards Broader Application of Costimulation Blockade-Based Immunosuppression

Mohammad Zaidi Wins AHPBA Young Investigator Award

Lily Yang, Jack Arbiser, and Colleagues Test New Nanoparticle as Therapy for Advanced Melanoma


Emory Surgery Places 7th in 2018 NIH Funding Rankings

Andrew Adams is Co-PI of a Study Developing a Nanoparticle-driven Screening Method for Detecting Rejection of a Transplanted Organ

Cathy Graham Participates in Study of Minimally Invasive Excision of High-Risk Breast Lesions and Small Breast Cancers

Emory Surgery Faculty and Trainees are Seen AND Heard at SESC 2019

Surgical Evidence Blog Augments Resident Learning in M&M Conferences

Erica Ludi to Serve as RAS Liaison to the ACS Operation Giving Back Global Education Workgroup

Emory Surgical Oncologists and Surgery Residents Participate in Study Confirming the Ability of Virus to Combat Melanoma


S. Scott Davis is Co-editor of New SAGES Manual of Hernia Surgery

Gazi Rashid Presents Popular Workshop on Making Cheap, Effective Simulation Models at IMSH

Edward Chen Honored with TSRA's 2019 Socrates Teaching Award

Emory Structural Heart & Valve Center Joins New NIH Network, Announces New Leadership