Residency/Fellowship Transitions for 2016-2017

July 2016


Outgoing Chief Residents:

Douglas Anderson, abdominal transplant surgery fellowship, Emory University; Karan Desai, plastic surgery fellowship, Emory University; Jeremy Fisher, pediatric surgery fellowship, Nationwide Children's Hospital/Ohio State University, Columbus, GA; Sarah Fisher, surgical oncology fellowship, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX; Christopher Funderburk, plastic surgery fellowship, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Concord, NH; Jordan Hoffman, thoracic fellowship, University of Colorado, Denver, CO; Timothy Love, private practice, Jackson, TN; Rachel Medbery, thoracic fellowship, Emory University; Eugenia Page, plastic surgery fellowship, Emory University; Joshua Rosenblum, cardiac fellowship, Emory University.

Incoming Categorical Residents:

Kyle Eldredge, Lake Erie College of Medicine, Lake Erie, PN; Adriana Gamboa, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX; DeAngelo Harris, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN; Martha-Conley Ingram, Emory University; Rachel Lee, Baylor College of Medicine; Brendan Lovasik, Emory University; Erica Ludi, Emory University; Abraham Matar, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL; Rachel Neihuus, University of California, San Francisco, CA.

General Surgery Preliminary Residents:

Emma Celano, Emory University; Lucy Fu, Emory University; Maria Garcia, Emory University; Juanmarco Gutierrez Gonzalez, Universidad Anahuac Escuela de Medicina, Yucatan, Mexico; Joshua Levy, Emory University; KC Biebighauser, University of Texas, Houston, TX; Patrick Mullane, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD; Evan Mulloy, Georgia Regents University, Augusta, GA; Elizabeth Traore, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA.


Outgoing Fellows:

Lisa Marie Lai is taking a breast surgical oncology position at SUNY Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, NY; and Adriana Suarez-Ligon is going to Rutgers New Jersey Medical School, Newark, NJ.

Incoming Fellows:

Karen Buhariwalla was a chief resident at Garden City Hospital, Garden City MI; and Paul "Rocky" Williams completed his chief residency at Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center, Johnstown, PA.


Outgoing Residents:

Aaron Abarbanell, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles/USC; Steven Debeer, Heart and Health Institute Westside, Plantation, FL; and Onkar Khullar, Emory University Hospital Midtown.

Outgoing Pediatric CT Fellow:

Farshad Anvari, St. Joseph's Children's Hospital, Tampa, FL.

Incoming Three-Year CT Residents:

Rachel Medbery, Emory; and Joshua Rosenblum, Emory.

Incoming Integrated Six-Year CT Residents:

Parth M. Patel, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN; and David Zapata, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Incoming Pediatric CT Fellow:

Raina Sinha, University of Southern California Los Angeles, CA.


Outgoing Fellows:

Benjamin Martin, colorectal surgery fellowship, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis; and Mihir Maheshkumar Shah, surgical oncology fellowship, Robertwood Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ.

Incoming Fellows:

Arinbjorn Jonsson, Montefiore Medical Center, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY; and Lava Yogendra Patel, Grainger Center for Simulation and Innovation at NorthShore University HealthSystem, Evanston, IL.


Outgoing Residents

Brandon Christensen, Sacramento Surgical Arts, Sacramento, CA; Daniel Martin, El Dorado Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, El Dorado Hills, CA; James Parelli, Lane & Associates, Raleigh, NC; and Lisa Tran, Ratner and Wilson DDS, Inc., Orange, CA.

Incoming Four-Year Residents

Michael London, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada; Chelsea Mitchell, University of Maryland, College Park, MD; and Sascha Zandevakili, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific, Stockton, CA.

Incoming Six-Years Residents

Kevin Hong, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada; and James Jeong, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, FL.


Outgoing fellow Sarah Hill is joining the faculty at Sacred Heart Children's Hospital, Spokane, WA. Incoming fellow Lucas Neff is from the University of California, Davis.


Outgoing Residents:

Colin Brady, craniofacial fellowship, University of Southern California, LA; Kevin Bridge, private practice, TX; and Meredith Vandegrift, private practice in New York.

Incoming Independent Residents:

Karan Desai, Emory; and Eugenia Page, Emory.

Incoming Integrated Residents:

Jonathan Nguyen, University of Louisville School of Medicine, KY; and Justin Williams, Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA.


Outgoing Fellows:

William Kitchens and Denise Lo are joining the faculty of the Emory Division of Transplantation.

Incoming Fellows:

Douglas Anderson, Emory; and Austin Schenk, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, NH.


Incoming Trauma Fellows:

Jose Fernandez-Gerena, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Detroit, MI; Elizabeth Fox, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Providence, RI; and Yasmin Tootla, Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, MI.

New Surgical Critical Care Fellows:

Travis Arnold-Lloyd, Albany Medical Center, Albany, NY; Amanda Celii, Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA; and Paul Evans, Washington University in St. Louis, Barnes-Jewish Hospital, MO.

Outgoing Surgical Critical Care Fellows:

Mary Colvin is going to Fort Walton Beach Medical Center, FL. Dipan Patel and Rachael Williams are joining the Emory trauma and surgical critical care faculty at Grady Memorial Hospital.


Outgoing Residents:

William Ashwander, Coastal Vascular and Vein Center, Charleston, SC; and Chandler Long, Duke University, Durham, NC.

Incoming Residents:

Emily Lagergren, Wake Forest School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, NC; and Christopher Ramos, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO.

««return to top