Emory Surgery Ranked #5 in NIH Awards for 2011

August 2012

As reported on the website of the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research, the Department of Surgery of the Emory University School of Medicine was ranked #5 in NIH awards for all Departments of Surgery nationwide in 2011, a position the Department has maintained since 2008.

Drs. Chris Larsen and Allan Kirk were listed in the top five funded PIs, and Drs. Craig Coopersmith, Mandy Ford, Stuart Knechtle, David Lefer, Kenneth Newell, and Lily Yang placed in the top 250. Blue Ridge obtains the information for the award files it posts from the NIH's Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool (RePORT).

"The Department maintained this ranking despite explicitly working to diversify away from NIH funding as our most significant funding source," says Dr. Kirk, the department's vice chair of research. "Our faculty have had success with numerous other federal funders not accounted for the in the NIH-only rankings, including the Department of Defense, the Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality."